Fields medal 2010

The Fields Medals have been announced today. The four winners are:

  • Elon Lindenstrauss (for analytic work with applications to number theory)
  • Ngô Bảo Châu (for analytic work with applications to number theory)
  • Stanislav Smirnov (for theoretical work in statistical physics)
  • Cedric Villani (for theoretical work in statistical physics).

made far-reaching advances in ergodic theory (the study of statistical behavior of dynamical systems); Ngô gave a proof of a long-standing conjecture in number theory, namely, the Fundamental Lemma; Smirnov brought mathematical rigor to statistical physics; and Villani made deep connections between mathematics and physics, especially in the topic of entropy.

** Note: Some posts on Math-Fail are user-submitted and NOT verified by the admin of the site before publication. If you find this post to be distasteful, non-math related, ?or something worse?, then definitely leave a comment letting me know. Thanks very much! Mike **

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)


  1. I have to give Lindenstrauss credit, he spent six years in the army, which means he probably only started his master’s when he was 27 years old. (Also he’s from my university, and the first Israeli to win a fields medal, so there’s faculty pride).

    Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0